The Other You - J.S. Monroe

The Other You

By J.S. Monroe

  • Release Date: 2020-01-09
  • Genre: Fiction & Literature
Score: 4
4
From 234 Ratings

Description

Is he who you think he is?

Kate used to be good at recognising people. So good, she worked for the police, identifying criminals in crowds of thousands. But six months ago, a devastating car accident led to a brain injury. Now the woman who never forgot a face can barely recognise herself in the mirror.

At least she has Rob. Kate met him just after her accident, and he nursed her back to health in his high-tech modernist house on the Cornish coast. When she's with him, the nightmares of the accident fade, and she feels safe and loved.

Until, one day, she looks at Rob anew – and knows, with absolute certainty, that he has been replaced by an impostor. Is she right? Have her old recognition skills returned? Or is it all in her damaged mind?

This intricate, original and emotionally charged psychological thriller is perfect for fans of J.P. Delaney and Louise Candlish.

'Brilliantly original and intriguing ... Kept me hooked, enthralled and guessing to the very end' Peter James.

'A pacy, powerful psychological thriller that throws up questions on every page' Mari Hannah.

Reviews for J.S. Monroe:

'Full of unpredictable twists' The Times.
'Intricately woven and heart-stoppingly believable' Clare Mackintosh.
'The most ingenious thriller you will read this year' M.J. Arlidge.
'Cunning, captivating and creepy' J.P. Delaney.
'A tightly coiled and crafted plot' Daily Mail.
'Gripping and deeply sinister' Caroline Kepnes.
'An intricate puzzle of a thriller' Lucie Whitehouse.

Reviews

  • The other you

    4
    By Spungen Love
    Really well written and I agree with what other reviewers have written so I won’t repeat what they’ve said. My only criticism was the ending seemed a little rushed as well as the final twist.
  • Brilliant read.

    5
    By Lucccceee
    Took me on a fantastic journey. I loved it. Hope a 2nd is made?!?!?!
  • Decent read

    4
    By Rubylovesdresses
    This is a good interesting book with good characters and an unusual storyline. The only thing that lets it down is the main character apparent reported high intellect and why they didn’t ever question all the strangisms in their relationship with a person.
  • The Other You

    5
    By BackToBook
    Wow! Quite a read .. love this author’s books.
  • Gripping, engrossing a great read

    5
    By bubbles1962
    WOW, what a read, this is absolutely brilliant, I have read other books by this author but this has to be my favourite to date, just short of 500 pages but they flew by, maybe because of the short chapters, but also because of the brilliantly fast paced, engaging, engrossing storylines, told from three points of view, Kate, Jake and Silas. Kate is a super recogniser she only has to see someone’s face once, she would then be able to pick them out of a crowd, she never forgets a face, she’s also a portrait artist, but that doesn’t pay the bills, so she begins working with the police DI Silas Hart, Swindon CID, Kate’s work is invaluable to them, she helps to catch people smugglers, but she is pushed hard, as well as the fact her long term relationship with Jake is all going wrong, she saw him kissing another female on CCTV, ending their 12 year relationship. Going home one night Kate crashes her car into a tree, it’s an old car no airbags, she has head injuries, which for Kate are life changing, as she can no longer remember faces, she also struggles to paint anymore. Six months after her accident she is living in an ultra modern tech controlled house, with Rob a high tech entrepreneur, she had met him at the hospital whilst she was recovering from her accident, romance had blossomed, Rob spends weekends at the house in Cornwall, but most of the week he has to be in London to run his business, he is always on the go, he has arranged for a Dr Varma a neuropsychologist to monitor Kate, with some ultra technical headgear that shows whether Kate’s brain is recovering. He seems to be a very caring loving partner, always making sure she double locks the doors, the house is like Fort Knox. He confides in Kate one day about his biggest fear, which is that his doppelgänger will come and steal his life, and everything in it, he tells Kate that for his 21st birthday he had gone with friends to Thailand and he had met his doppelgänger, and theory is if you see them a second time that’s it your life is over. Kate is happy he has shared his concerns with her, after all she doesn’t really know much else about him, except for his business. The problem with living in a tech controlled house is that random things can start happening, or are they random, Rob is convinced that Kate’s brain is healing, and that she will be painting again soon. But then Kate starts thinking Rob is not Rob, but if it’s not Rob who is it? This is a brilliant psychological thriller crossed with a police procedural, I love the main characters in this Silas and D.C. Strover who works with him, Bex, Kate’s best friend. The characters are relatable, likeable and believable which for me is a big part in making a book work, if you are rooting for characters the author has done a good job, if you don’t care for any of them it makes it hard to engage with the whole story. I very highly recommend this book. I would like to thank #netgalley and #HeadofZeus for an eARC of this book in exchange for an honest, fair and unbiased review.
  • Wonderfully entertaining....

    5
    By Sniffy1234
    J.S. Monroe has previously written two psychological thrillers before “The Other You” which I haven’t read but after thoroughly enjoying this latest gripping thriller, I will definitely be looking to read his earlier books. “The Other You” focuses on the main protagonist Kate, a Police ‘super recogniser’ who after suffering brain trauma following a suspicious serious car accident, can barely recognise herself in a mirror. When she starts believing her new successful techpreneur boyfriend Rob isn’t who she thinks he is, she doesn’t know whether he has been replaced by his doppelgänger, which has always been Rob’s worst fear, or whether she’s suffering from a condition called Capgras Syndrome, where you truly believe a loved one has been replaced by an imposter. Using a doppelgänger as a theme for the story was very ingenious and has you really thinking about how alike these people can be to yourself. I loved the storyline to the book, the wonderfully developed characters and the fantastically written plot. I’ve never heard of ‘super recognisers’ before and was intrigued to find they are actually used by the police to track criminals and I thought to use this as the basis for a main character, was very clever. The denouement was exceedingly tense and well thought out, with a twist that I didn’t see coming. I particularly liked how the author explained everything at the end, unlike so many books which leave you to put the pieces together yourself. Part police procedural, part psychological thriller, with many layers intertwined, I enjoyed reading the story told through alternating chapters of Kate, her ex boyfriend Jake and her old boss from the super recogniser unit, Silas. Unique, gripping, addictive, at times chilling and wholly very entertaining, I wouldn’t hesitate to recommend this book and author. Featuring paranoia, deceit, distrust, identity, memory, emotions and relationships, there’s just so much to keep you turning the pages and I’d be very surprised if you didn’t find this as enjoyable as I did. I’d love to read more from DI Silas Hart and his DC, Strover, I think they’d make a great series and I could easily see this book being made into an excellent movie. 5 wonderfully entertaining stars.