A Man Called Ove - Fredrik Backman

A Man Called Ove

By Fredrik Backman

  • Release Date: 2014-07-03
  • Genre: Fiction & Literature
Score: 4.5
4.5
From 313 Ratings

Description

Perfect for fans of Gail Honeyman's Eleanor Oliphant is Completely Fine; Ruth Hogan's The Keeper of Lost Things and Graeme Simsion's The Rosie Project, A Man Called Ove is one of the best-loved and most life-affirming novels of the decade.

This multi-million-copy phenomenon is a funny, moving, uplifting tale of love and community that will leave you with a spring in your step.

'Warm, funny, and almost unbearably moving' Daily Mail

'Rescued all those men who constantly mean to read novels but never get round to it' Spectator Books of the Year

At first sight, Ove is almost certainly the grumpiest man you will ever meet. He thinks himself surrounded by idiots - neighbours who can't reverse a trailer properly, joggers, shop assistants who talk in code, and the perpetrators of the vicious coup d'etat that ousted him as Chairman of the Residents' Association. He will persist in making his daily inspection rounds of the local streets.

But isn't it rare, these days, to find such old-fashioned clarity of belief and deed? Such unswerving conviction about what the world should be, and a lifelong dedication to making it just so?

In the end, you will see, there is something about Ove that is quite irresistible . . .

Reviews

  • Took a while to get going

    3
    By thegreatbritishoutdoors
    Took a while to get going but eventually the point was made
  • A Man Called Ove

    5
    By grayzeeee
    Read this book.
  • Crying and laughing at the same time is always good.

    5
    By Bosh wish
    Anyone of any age and any gender type will recognise characters and situations they have known in this tale of human kindness versus officialdom. It is heart wrenching watching Ove, the protagonist struggling in coming to terms with loss and the failings of those around him- yet among all this negativity the laugh out loud moments are truly wonderful and so warming.
  • Heartwarmingly sad

    4
    By Kkkkkkateeeeeee
    An easy, quick read but that which leaves the characters with you. A story of a grumpy old man softened by those around him. Lovely mix of past and present stories that lead ove to be the way he is.
  • Loved it loved it loved it

    5
    By Jonny-0121
    Didn't want it too end
  • A Man Called Ove

    5
    By MrsTarplee
    I absolutely loved this book!! Funny, moving, thought provoking and beautifully written. Many of the secondary characters seemed a bit overblown and unrealistic but even this aspect of the book was clever and wonderful as it ensured that the real star of the show was the awkward, unassuming, principled, miserable old git - Ove. He stayed with me long after I turned the final page. My favourite book so far this year. Just wonderful.
  • Brilliant

    5
    By Mrs_j0
    This booked moved me so much that I'm writing my first review. It is so simply written, so uncomplicated in its description of Ove and how he feels, and how he makes others feel, I found it impossible not to empathise. It made me laugh, but it made me cry (weep, actually) in the later chapters. Really beautifully written and I loved it.
  • Ove

    1
    By GamingLord641
    This is a cool book
  • Brilliant ove

    5
    By English Nigel
    This is the most original, well observed, funny and moving book I have read in a long time. I think it is in my top 50 best ever. Give it 10 pages to get used to the style and Ove will get under your skin. Brilliant. Take care if you drive a BMW though (you will need to read to understand).
  • Amazing read!!!!

    5
    By Malinkalenka
    Difficult to put down.